Not For Short Lashes

I have been on a mission to find a good mascara since the 8th grade. My natural hair color is a really dark brown but oddly enough I have very light eyelashes. They are also very short and straight which I think is an Asian trait. However, my little, straight, light lashes aren’t sparse and when using mascara (any kind) my lashes get clumpy and stuck together. I know it can’t be all user error because I know how to apply mascara. With every kind of mascara out there, there has got to be one that gives me length, holds curl without creating clumpy, spidery lashes and that doesn’t flake (which drives me crazy). Though I have not found my perfect magical mascara, I have found the ones that do not work for me. So, if you have a lot of short, straight, light lashes, keep reading.

benefit

Let’s start with the high end. I have used the Benefit They’re Real Mascara over and over. I had a trail version that I was using every day as I posted on my Every Day Routine and repurchased it and decided to try it out again which I mentioned in the Try These post. This mascara is fine, it does give length and I thought after seeing all the videos on how to apply that they wouldn’t get clumpy but mine did a little. It isn’t a horrible product but for $25, I expected more and I did get a little flaking.

chanel

Chanel’s Inimitable Intense Mascara was good and the little brush made it really easy to get your bottom lashes as well. However, for $30 this mascara didn’t last long. I used it for about 2 weeks and it got dry quick. 1. There isn’t that much product in the $30 tube. 2. I think the formula just dries up really quick. I really don’t think it is worth the money.

ub

The Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara is a pretty good product. The brush does work pretty well for both top and lower lashes. It doesn’t give me super curly long lashes but I think it does help hold the curl I create by using my eyelash curler. Is it worth $20? I don’t think so but I am cheap so if I spend that much money I expect better results.

nars

Nars Larger Than Life Volumizing Mascara is $25 but my tube came in a gift set I ordered online which totaled about $30. Typically, when I use brushes like this things get messy on my eyelids but this wasn’t a huge issue when using the Nars mascara. The results weren’t anything fantastic, at least they weren’t so wonderful that I felt the need to repurchase the mascara. I feel like it gave me a natural look but enough to make sure I looked like I had eyelashes as opposed to the…

great

Maybelline Great Lash which costs about $5 and did nothing. The clear version does work pretty well as a cheap eyebrow setting gel though.

nyx-faux-lashes-mascara

Though it was only about $6, I had high hopes for Nyx Cosmetics Faux Lashes Boudoir Mascara because I have been loving a lot of Nyx products lately. This one of the worst mascaras I have ever used. 1. It does not hold curl. 2. It is so flakey. 3. It gives no length. 4. It gives no volume. 5. It clumps. 6. The fibers are stuck all over the brush making application messy. All it does is give me some color but if you aren’t careful and try to separate your lashes, you can easily wipe the color right back off the tips of your lashes.

nyc

Do not even think about purchasing the NYC Big Bold Curl Mascara unless you want to make a complete mess of your eyeshadow application. This brush is huge and there is nothing inside the tube to help wipe off the excess product so you get a huge brush full of globs of goopy, wet product. All this mascara did was anger me. Yeah, I paid $5 for but it isn’t worth $1. However, the NYC Smooth Skin Loose Powder works pretty good especially for the price.

rocket

The lesser of the 10 evils, Maybelline Volum’ Express The Rocket Mascara isn’t all it’s cracked up to be but the brush allows you to build up your lashes pretty well with a couple of layers of mascara without getting too clumpy and without being super messy. It doesn’t work as well on the lower lash line but it is not the worst for $8. However, I won’t be repurchasing this.

plush

Maybelline Voum’ Express the Mega Plush Mascara is the messiest mascara I have ever tried. It is flakey and goopy. They claim the gel mousse formula prevents flaking but it flaked all over my face and the wet product plus the bendable brush made application difficult and messy. It was about $8 and I will never repurchase this.

loreal

Many people online claimed the L’Oreal Voluminous False Fiber Lashes was a $9 drugstore dupe for one of Lancome’s Hypnose mascaras so I had very high hopes for this. I bought it and mentioned it in my Drug Store Beauty post. However, it disappointed me. It is not the worst mascara I have ever tried but I will not be repurchasing it. It was messy because the brush has so many little bristles that the product kind of clumps onto the brush unevenly but it did give me some length and volume.

4 thoughts on “Not For Short Lashes

  1. I actually really love this mascara! I have short straight lashes (worst combo ever) and I find that it helps to take an eyelash curler and heat it slightly with a blowdryer then using the hot eyelash curler before applying mascara! 🙂

    Like

    1. I have done that before and it works great to get the curl but once I apply mascara it’s like the mascara weighs my lashes down so the curl doesn’t stay. I bought some new mascaras to try out so I will try them with the heated curler! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment