New Favorites

It is summertime! With summer comes heat and sweat. So these are a few things that are preventing my face from being a shiny disaster and my hair from being a frizzy mess. The first thing: foundation. I have been using BB creams for what seems like a million years now but during the summer the last thing my skin needs is more moisture so I set out to find a new foundation that didn’t feel too heavy. One problem I always have with drug store foundation is that I pick the lightest shade or the next-to-lightest shade because they look so dark in the store. Then I get home, try it out, and end up looking like a ghost. This time I picked the fourth lightest color because I had a plan. I have a lot of translucent and light colored loose powders so I thought, “If this is too dark, I can lighten it up with powder.” The color is perfect and the foundation is great. It is a great texture and I just rub it on in circles like a moisturizer. My t-zone still gets a little shiny but this foundation doesn’t get cakey or splotchy. This is made for normal to oily skin. Previously I tried the Dream Matte Airbrush foundation and really like it as well. It is a very light coverage foundation and feels good but I bought the lightest color so I may layer the medium color loose powder I have over it to balance out the ghostly color it gives me.

foundation

Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

There are many things I wish for and good eyebrows are in the top 5 for sure. I never had dark thick eyebrows but I made matters worse back when thin brows were in and really over plucked mine. What happened? Oh, well now I have a bald spot where they didn’t grow back. I get them tinted to help the color but I still have to fill them in and draw part of one on which takes forever. I used the Two Faced Brow Envy kit forever and just recently used up all the brown powder so I thought I would try a different brand. The great thing about this kit is the angled brush. I don’t use the stencils or the wax. I use one brush from the Two Faced kit and the angled brush from this kit with the lightest powder in the brunette palette.  My hair is really dark brown but my skin is so light anything darker looks too severe. The powder is good but if you already have a great powder just go buy the brush- it’s worth the money.

  eyebrow
Anastasia Beverly Hills Beauty Express For Brows and Eyes

It only cost $6, go buy it because it’s worth way more. This is a thinner consistency than Benefit’s Erase Paste but covers just as good. A little goes a long way. I got the lightest color and use it as a highlight under my eyes. It doesn’t get cakey and it’s buildable.

concealer

Hard Candy Glamoflauge Heavy Duty Concealer 

I have been considering eyelash extensions. Then I read horror stories and talk myself out of them. If I could just figure out how to apply fake lashes and allot time to do it everyday then I’m sure I would look great. But I’m lazy. This mascara doesn’t do what fake lashes do but it is a nice formula that if you slowly and carefully apply a couple of coats after curling, you get pretty decent looking lashes.

 

mascara

Loreal Miss Manga Mascara

I ran out of PM Super Skinny Serum a while back and tried the Pantene Advanced Keratin Repair Split End Fuser and loved it (two bottles) but I decided I wanted to see what all the “oil” hype was about so I tried Loreal’s Extraordinary Oil. It smells good and works great in my morning cocktail (PM Flexible Style Sculpting Foam, Extraordinary Oil) followed by PM Heat Seal. It also works good as a finishing cream after straightening or curling.

 

oil

Loreal Total Repair 5 Extraordinary Oil

primer

Urban Decay Eden Eyeshadow Primer Potion

Another great summer product. I got samples of primer potions with the Naked 3 palette and love this one. The color is great and the formula really does assist in keeping your eyeshadow in place and preventing creases. I will be purchasing this soon.

4 thoughts on “New Favorites

Leave a Reply

