Powder Foundation

Sephora 8hr foundation

Who knew there was a foundation that covered well and felt like you were wearing nothing on your skin? Bare Minerals is ok but loose powder can get annoying and making it cover spots takes a lot of effort. During a trip to Sephora, I was introduced to the Sephora Collection 8 hour Mattifying Powder Foundation which is a pressed powder. It covers and wears like a dream. I have oily skin and this powder stays looking pretty good for about 8 hours on me. That’s about the same or a little longer than the foundations or bb creams I have used in the past but typically liquids really highlight my shiny skin. For winter I may need to go back to my trusty bb cream but we’ll see how the powder does with the super cold temperatures before switching back. Below are the tools and products I use with and to apply the powder foundation.

dreamlumi

After applying moisturizer and waiting a few minutes, I apply concealer under my eyes and on any spots on my face. I bought this Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in a color that matched my skin, so it doesn’t highlight anything but it provides just enough coverage without being cakey under the powder foundation. I also have this in a lighter color to highlight but recently I’ve been using the Holika Holika Luminous Silk Aura Highlighter (pressed powder) instead.

stipple

 

I blend the concealer with an E.L.F Studio Stipple Brush. It was super cheap, the top came off and I just hot glued it back on and it works great. I only need to do this when I have lots of spots on my face or if I accidentally apply a little too much concealer.

brushTo apply the powder foundation, I use this Real Techniques Powder Brush. I start at my forehead and apply using a circular motion, moving down one side of my face, to the other side and then to my chin and nose.

brush

I buff the powder onto my checks, and jawline. To blend around my hairline, nose, mouth, under my eyes and any fussy spots I dab with this Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.

udAnytime I have flakey spots on my skin, I spray this setting spray onto a stiff brush and dab it which helps the texture of my skin look more smooth.

 

eyebrowpoplipsticknaked2basicsBare MIntlashdiscovery

After that, it’s light contouring with a powder bronzer, a little blush, maybe highlight (if I remember), eyeshadow, eyebrows, and lipstick/gloss. My makeup routine time has been reduced by at least 10 minutes and I never feel like I’m wearing lots of makeup. On a side note, though the new Naked 2 Basics shadows have a lot of fallout, the colors are pretty awesome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

