Outfits For Japan

Japan Outfits

I am finally taking the trip I have been dreaming of all my life! I am going to see my grandmother’s home country at the end of Spring this year. I have never been more excited about anything in my entire life. I have already starting planning and packing. I have picked comfortable, practical, and inexpensive pieces of clothing. All are neutral and can be mixed and matched. With these pieces I can make it 6 days in Japan and wash the day before we head to China for 9 days. So I am obviously going for comfort over style here. In order to insure my back does not go haywire while traveling, I am only bringing comfortable, supportive shoes. My wardrobe in general is pretty neutral so gathering neutral pieces was not a difficult task. These neutral pieces will make mixing and matching much easier and with the exception of the two chambray tops, all items will stay wrinkle free. I bought a travel size Downy Wrinkle Releaser to help with that.

HOW TO PACK Light

I over pack. I am a over prepared person always thinking “what’s the worst that could happen” and then trying to prepare for that potential problem. The only way I can avoid over packing is after checking the weather of my destination, I make a list. From that list I make outfits, try each outfit on and take a photo with my phone. Then I can decide if it’s a “yes” or “no.” If there is any outfit that I am not 100% sure that I will wear, I scrap it. For this trip in particular, I watched videos about how most adults dressed in Tokyo, which was helpful in picking out particular styles of sandals and tops. For example, low cut tops (even without tons of cleavage) is not typically smiled upon in Tokyo but showing a lot of leg is normal. So, I only included two v-neck tops and made sure they were not too low.

Typically, you want to wear the bulkiest items to the airport. So I will wear the Nike tennis shoes, the everyday jacket, and use my backpack as my carry-on bag.

Number of Items
  1. Tops- 8
  2. Bottoms- 6 (3 pairs of the same black capris)
  3. Jackets- 3 (4 if you count my rain jacket)
  4. Shoes- 3
Other Packing Ideas
  • Use packing cubes
  • Use shoe bags
  • Pack outfits together so you remember what goes with what
  • Take a laundry or plastic bag to store dirty clothes
  • Utilize the zipper compartments inside your suitcase (e.g. shove your pajamas in that zipper pocket on the side of your suitcase)
  • Leave a little room for souvenirs
  • Leave the hair dryer at home (I checked to make sure the hotels I booked had hair dryers)
  • Leave valuables at home (I am not taking my Barbour jacket, fine jewelry, expensive handbags, or anything that if lost would completely devastate me)
  • Travel size is more expensive but sometimes necessary. I have those little travel size bottles that I will be using for my facewash but other than that I need a mini dry shampoo, hairspray, Lysol, and toothpaste to abide by the 3.4 ounce rule.
  • Check out TjMaxx and Marshalls for less expensive luggage, packing organizers, and accessories
  • Pack at least one change of clothes in your carry-on.
  • Practical versus stylish- if you’re a girl who looks at Pinterest, you know you have seen these cute girls with their Louis Vuitton carry-ons and stylish outfits but here’s the truth: do you want to accidentally scratch that Louis Vuitton carry-on or have blisters on your feet? Carrying an expensive purse is one thing but if you are flying a very long distance, I would avoid worrying too much about how fashionable you look. Of course, if you are taking a private jet, this does not apply 🙂

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Outfits For Japan

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

